MA Request ErikCO

MA Request ErikCO

Postby ErikCO » Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:04 pm

Ok, first video of myself posted here, please don't be too mean :)

Discovered PMTS 11 or 12 years ago, was mainly self taught until last year when I went to my first camp. Learned a lot about movement I had neglected (mainly CB) and came back this year for more. I have had boot fitting and alignment done by Diana and Walker, primarily, and while I'm not sure it is quite right, they think it is fairly close based on camp videos. I was fortunate enough to run into HeluvaSkier a couple of days after camp and he invited me to spend some time skiing with his group. Main thing I was working on, at that time, was, for lack of a better term, speeding up my transitions (I have a tendency to have a turn, short traverse, turn instead of actually linked turns) and increasing edge angles. Please ignore the first pole plant. Still fighting with old habits on them!

Looking at video from that day, I see two things I am concerned about. First, with my turns to the left, I do not appear to be getting much high-C edge engagement and it almost looks like, at least from snow spray, that there is a little bit of a last minute edge set on those turns. Second, in transition, I seem to end up going into a slight A-frame. I can't really tell if this is something that is happening more on one side than the other, but I see it in all turns.

Turning to Max's list of MA questions, I come to:

Does the release start by flexing the outside leg?
- On turns to the right, yes. On turns to the left, I think so, although I don't think I'm flexing enough and so get more upper body up/down movement than I ideally should have
Does LTE tipping lead engagement to the new turn?
- I am fairly sure that it does, both directions
Are the feet pulled back at transition?
- Yes
Is the inside foot held back throughout the turn?
- Yes
Is there enough CB and CA and is the timing right?