Good ski for Me? Off piste and moguls

Post your questions/comments about Gear here

Good ski for Me? Off piste and moguls

Postby srmd2 » Tue Dec 13, 2005 8:15 pm

I have been browsing the realskier site trying to get a handle on what characteristics I should look for in a new ski. I am 173 lbs, 5'10" and I have been skiing for 20 years, on and off. My level is probably what they call sport skier, maybe verging on expert. I can slam down bumps pretty well, but I lose control about 25% of the time and ski off to the side. I can ski any groomed hardpack down the fall line, regardless of steepness. I do get sloppy and intimidated in really steep chutes and really tough double blacks with bumps crud and trees, but I can usually get a decent stretch in before I either chicken out or lose it.

Having said all that, my favorite conditions are tough, steep mogul runs and deep powder and crud-- non-groomed stuff, but not back country.

I demo'd a bunch of skies at steamboat last week, mostly in knee-deep powder. They include the volkl 5 star, the salomon 1080 gun and salomon x-scream scrambler, all new skies, some brand new models. They all worked fine and felt totally different. I still want to try the rossi b2 and b3, and the head im 72 and 88. I loved the 1080 guns, and thought they were ok in the bumps, great in the pow. The thing is, from what I gather here, what is good in the bumps in terms of ski shape, is no good in pow. Eg, the head 88 would be good in pow, the 72 in bumps. Same for Rossi B3 vs B2, or salomon Guns vs Xscreams. Ultimately I prefer bumps to crud, but frequently I find 'em both together anyway. Hence, I was leaning toward something like the guns, or pocket rockets (discontinued?), or the head im 88s. Am I off base here? Should I look at something thinner, with more sidecut. Also, an afterthought, the Atomic metron B5, as something with aftercut and carving ability ( which supposedly corresponds with good mogul skis).

Thanks for any insights.