Confused

PMTS Forum

Confused

Postby Harald » Thu May 19, 2005 12:33 pm

My responding to the questions and discussions about John Clendenin's ideas about bump skiing will be based on information I have gathered from a number of sources.

The first is John C. himself, although what John told me over the last two years was vague, somehow confusing and not complete, at least to me as a ski technique developer, I gather his ideas about bump skiing are very different from those we use in PMTS. John's bump skiing is different from mine and also from many other contemporaries. He personally uses a softer, slower (speed), more skidded, round line in the bumps. I am referring to his own skiing, not what he is writing, although both may be, one in the same.

An aside: Scott Brooksbanks, (a former bump skiing champion and competitor) who's bump skiing I regard highly, skis very differently from John C. Scott uses strong leg bending, flexing and retractions, and early edge engagement, a technique I would call, more like PMTS in approach. John C. is not in the PMTS School of thinking in the same way. Hermann Gollner who was the best pure skier on the free style circuit uses a technique closer to PMTS, like Scott. Just for comparison Wayne Wong, uses a more soft less aggressive bump technique. I have skied with all these skiers and know there skiing very well. In the days of Freestyle there were three events scored separately, but added together for the overall. You did not have to be a great bump skier to win a freestyle event, if you could do ballet and aerials well.

I can't truly say where John's thinking is coming from, as he has not been participating in and is not current in PMTS. He is closer to Lito?s bump skiing approach then to PMTS. He has not attended a PMTS training or certification session in the last four years. For this reason there is a communication, understanding and discussion void between PMTS and John's thoughts on skiing.