Equipment for PMTS

PMTS Forum

Equipment for PMTS

Postby skugrud » Mon Feb 21, 2005 9:02 pm

I am new to this form and have been following ski technique since Stein originated the reverse shoulder technique and was an early convert to Harold's push to the pure carved turns. (I started laying "railroad tracks on my Salomon 2'S and have been at it ever since).

Lately I have become conversant in many of the PSIA forms, such as early edge initiation and so forth.

From my observation it seems that technique change follows equipment change. So my question is: Is there one ski design that makes skiing these forms easier? It seems that all the PSIA folks are on short salom with a turn radis or less than 13 M.

I am interested in some feedback and comments on this issue.

Thanks
skugrud

Postby Joseph » Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:01 am

I ski 3 skis.
Head iC160, size 170 (R 15)
Elan wood core 2000x's, size 188 (first generation shaped ski--R appox. 22+)
Blizzard straight skis, size 210 (R approx. half a mile)

I like to bend the ski.
It doesn't matter.

Joseph
Joseph

Postby jclayton » Tue Feb 22, 2005 12:32 pm

Eggsactly ,
Park and ride or railroad turns are easier on turny slaloms . Hardcharging carving turns are fun on any gutsy ski . Head chip slaloms are bgreat fun , I also use Volkl 724 pro's which are like a freight train on piste . Completely different but both exciting . I have to admit I don't get too excited about old straights but worth the challenge perhaps to show up defects . How do you find them Joseph ?
skinut ,among other things
jclayton

Postby milesb » Tue Feb 22, 2005 1:06 pm

I do 90% of my skiing on 11 year old 180 Volant Chubbs that have almost no sidecut and haven't been tuned in 6 years (because one is a little bent, no shop will run it through the machine). PMTS works great on them.
YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCH78E6wIKnq3Fg0eUf2MFng
milesb

Postby Joseph » Tue Feb 22, 2005 3:56 pm