Head Rev 80 or supershap i.speed

Post your questions/comments about Gear here

Head Rev 80 or supershap i.speed

Postby Robert0325 » Sat Apr 26, 2014 7:04 am

I'm hoping someone can help me. I'm trying to decide a new set of ski's. I can't afford 2 pairs so need something for all mountain.
I've skied for many years and am now 50, for the last 3 years I've dedicated myself to skiing the PMTS way, although have to admit I'm self taught using Harald's books, dvd's and youtube videos. I ski mainly in the Alps and mainly on piste but do like to go off piste when I get the chance, if I'm lucky this is in powder but more often than not crud, chopped up snow or slush. I've been skiing the last couple of seasons on Supershape Titan's 177cm (not Harald's favourite ski!) the idea being that they give a little more width underfoot for when off-piste. I would say though that I ski on groomed slopes about 70% of the time.
The decision is then weather to stick with a mid-fat ski like the Rev 80, or weather it's better to go back to a narrower ski like the supershape i.speed or would I have real problems with this in a few inches of off-piste snow (powder, crud, chop etc).
I'm also not sure on length. I'm 6'3", about 200lbs. I ski the supershape Titan as a 177
Any advise much appreciated.
Robert0325

Re: Head Rev 80 or supershap i.speed

Postby Erik » Sat Apr 26, 2014 7:45 am

Robert-

PMTS movements are much harder to learn and master on skis that are wider than 72mm underfoot. If you have been practicing PMTS on wider skis, you are holding back your progress by learning and reinforcing your movements on a ski 80mm underfoot. There are many posts on the forum referring to that. I love my Peak 78s (pre Flow-RIde) but my old Supershapes are always the skis I use when doing PMTS drills.