Learning PMTS with a Coach: A Video Diary

PMTS Forum

Learning PMTS with a Coach: A Video Diary

Postby Max_501 » Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:39 pm

As some of you know I'm a Blue PMTS Coach. Recently I had the pleasure of skiing with IdahoRob for a few days. Rob has offered to share his experience on the PMTS forums. Over a number of days we will post footage that should serve as a video diary of what we worked on as well as Rob's progress. We won't be giving feedback on the video right away, instead we'll give readers a day or so to play Arm Chair Coach. So, take a look at the footage and, if you'd like, put up a post with your thoughts about how you might coach a student like Rob and see if you can tell what we are working on. This is a tricky one because we are working on alignment as well as movement.

Here is some background information from IdahoRob:

5'11", 155 pounds. 62 years old. Skiing on 2009 iSuperShapes at 165cm and Nordica Speedmachine 14 boots. Been skiing, sort of, for over thirty years. Mostly self-taught from observing others, reading ski magazine articles, picking up whatever tips I could and trying to find my way. A few TTS group lessons with a club. Discovered PMTS end of 2005 season and began skiing 20-24 times a year, instead of half that in previous years. This year 35 days. I have no PMTS companions at home and no one who can take usable video (although I've really tried to find someone or teach them). Note: In the past 4 years Rob has skied three days with Max501 which was mainly skiing and a bit of coaching while the four days of coaching that will be discussed in this thread was focused all day PMTS coaching.

Some background video all shot before the Day 1 footage (which will be put up after folks have a chance to consider how they'd work with Rob based on the footage in this first post). EDIT - I've included all the video below for any new readers of this thread.

From Feb 2009:

From Mar 2010:

Day 1:

Day 2:

Day 3 - Part 1: