Good learning skis

Post your questions/comments about Gear here

Good learning skis

Postby nurseskier » Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:50 pm

Hi there,
I bought the Esssentials of Skiing this year. I've been skiing for 5 yrs but feel like I'm starting over. I am getting better at tipping and skiing on edge vs turning, but wondering if someone could recommend good learning skis. I am 5'2" (or 157 cm) tall, 125lb ski in Washington State. Would I need a carver-only type of ski or could I get away with All Mtn Carver that's maybe a little wider waisted for more versatility? What would you recommend for ski camp?
I'm looking at:
Nordica Olympia Speed 116-70-102 r14m in 154 length
Atomic Royal Minx 113-72-99 14m in 150 length
Roxy Joyrider 126-74-105 12m (?) in 154 length
Head Great One 123-77-109 12m (?) in 153 length
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Heather
nurseskier

Re: Good learning skis additional info

Postby nurseskier » Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:43 am

I forgot to say that I ski about 20-30 times per year. The only skis they have for demo at the resort I ski at are K2s and Atomics. I like Atomics because they seem to have good edge and energy I have skied the Sugar Mamas and Cloud 9. K2s don't seem very energetic.
Thanks again.
Heather
nurseskier

Re: Good learning skis

Postby Mac » Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:47 am

You should also put Elan on your list. They have made a strong commitment to a lineup of women's skis over the last few years. The ladies that I ski with that have them swear by them. They also have a very cool website, probably the best in the business. Check it out at elanskis.com.
Mac

Postby midwif » Wed Feb 18, 2009 7:38 pm

Hi Nurseski
I demo'ed the Nordica and found it very stiff, too stiff. I am 5'4"/118lbs.
The Head Great Ones are wider and may not be the ski to improve tipping skills.
Consider the Head Every One. Also rated highly and at your size has decent float for deeper snow.