Re-learning weight distribution?

PMTS Forum

Re-learning weight distribution?

Postby JohnMoore » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:26 am

I've been skiing typically 2-3 weeks a year for 10 years now and I'm reasonably competent on piste, having first discovered Lito's teaching many years ago and then come on to PMTS from that. I have very little off-piste experience, though, as powder has not tended to coincide with my holiday times. On the odd occasions I have been able to try, though, I have typically run into a problem I'd like to learn to avoid. I really took on board from Lito and HH the business of getting on to one, edged, ski to turn, which I now do pretty instinctively on piste, with 95%-100% of my weight on the outside ski when I am turning. The problem is that I have great difficulty stopping the same instinct kicking in when I go off-piste. I want to turn left so I lift and tip my left ski without thinking, my right ski buries itself in the snow, I go flying, I pick myself out of the snow, do some digging around for my missing ski, start up and repeat. Has anyone got any good suggestions as to how I should learn to kick the one-footed habit when off-piste, without spoiling my on-piste skiing? Some good on-piste drills, perhaps?
JohnMoore

Re: Re-learning weight distribution?

Postby HeluvaSkier » Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:01 am

2-footed release and the bullet proof short turn. I hope Max chimes in because he has links, videos, threads, and other resources that will really help you out.
Discipline is the refining fire by which talent becomes ability.

www.youtube.com/c/heluvaskier
HeluvaSkier

Postby JohnMoore » Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:04 am

HeluvaSkier wrote:2-footed release and the bullet proof short turn. I hope Max chimes in because he has links, videos, threads, and other resources that will really help you out.