Feedback on Instructing at PSIA/CSIA Ski Schools

PMTS Forum

Feedback on Instructing at PSIA/CSIA Ski Schools

Postby Sidney » Wed Aug 13, 2008 6:23 pm

Hi,

I'd like to get some feedback from people who know about teaching and getting hired at ski schools (non-PMTS). I'm seriously after information on this and not a bash or discussion on PSIA or their deficiancies.

I'm not PSIA or CSIA certified and from what I know it's difficult to get into a ski school especially in North America and Europe if you don't hold these (or similiar) credentials. Moreover if I were to try and get into a ski school to instruct, what if can demonstrate clean and complete carving (good releasing, transfer and engagement)?? Would I not be taken seriously because I'm a first time instructor? Irrespective of my skiing and/or teaching ability just because I've never taught TTS before? Would it mean I start at the bottom of the teaching chain no matter what??

I know there are on-snow interviews for the ski schools to see your skiing/teaching ability, but if I don't demonstrate the wedge or a push up/off for a release, would they try and change my skiing/teaching to teach the wedge and up and unweighting??

Thanks.
Sidney
Sidney

Re: Feedback on Instructing at PSIA/CSIA Ski Schools

Postby Volkskier1 » Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:33 pm

Ski schools in the US are hungry for bodies. They dont even care if you can ski. They'll get you a visa, house you in some crummy dorm pay you $6 an hour and teach you a wedge so you can teach it to 4-5 year olds and they can collect their $150 a day times 10 kids.

Most ski schools will honor foreign certification.
Volkskier1

Postby ToddW » Wed Aug 13, 2008 9:08 pm

Sidney,