Are these skis beyond my ability?

Post your questions/comments about Gear here

Are these skis beyond my ability?

Postby Crispy » Tue Mar 25, 2008 5:36 pm

I am an intermediate skier, which means I do not tremble with fear when facing blue slopes, but I am sure my technique can use lots of work, and I'm reading Harb's books and trying to learn from them. I have been skiing for about 3 years, ski only a few times a year and last year I purchased my first ski equipment.

I was looking for the Head XRC 500/800 ski's since I read a lot of recommendations for them from Harb, other pmts people and many sites. I am not able to afford new equipment and unfortunately the only used deal I could find was for the XRC 1100 model. At the time I purchased them (along with Head boots, tyrolia bindings) thinking that the skis would let me grow into them and would last me a very long time.

However on the slopes they feel so fast! I am not sure if its just getting used to decent skis instead of rentals or they are beyond my ability to control. I do not like the feeling that they want to go faster than I do and I don't want to risk injury or have them be a barrier in my learning.

So I am faced with some decisions -
1. get rid of them, start looking for used deals on XRC 800, or equivalent ski for me (I do plan on keeping my boots though)
2. go back to rentals till I feel comfortable
3. persevere till I master them!

Any help is appreciated.
Crispy

Re: Are these skis beyond my ability?

Postby Mac » Wed Mar 26, 2008 5:30 am