Harb carvers

PMTS Forum

Harb carvers

Postby sailfast » Sun Jul 02, 2006 5:11 pm

Hi all,

I am new to PMTS, but did attend the Hintertux camp with Harald and Diana. It was a revelation and a great learning experience. I also fell in love with Tyrol and Austria.

Among other things, I had a terrible time getting the required angulation to really tip the skis on edge. My videos were most revealing :( Made lots of improvement over the week, but I need some further work on tipping onto edges and getting the right amount of angulation. So I thought I'd work on that with a pair of Harb Carvers. But which one to get? I'm leaning towards the Pro. There are not too many hills where I live (Southern Massachusetts, near Cape Cod) so I will need to be able to skate with them. Any advice?

Thanks,

Bert
sailfast

Postby milesb » Sun Jul 02, 2006 7:25 pm

Being a mediocre hack, I can't really give you meaningful advice. But I can tell you what I understand about this. First of all, I assume that when you say angulation you are talking about counterbalancing. If you are balanced on the stance ski, your upper body will naturally counterbalance to some extent during the last 1/2 of a turn, because the turn forces will help drive your upper body to the outside of the turn. In the first part of the turn, those forces are rarely present so the counterbalancing needs to be an active and often powerful move. But as Harald warns, this move is not a primary move, it is in response to the tipping of the free foot. So don't move your upper body first then try to get your feet to match, it's the other way around. As you get used to it it will become more simultaneous. I have to be careful to not get in the backseat while doing this, but it may not be such an issue for others.
YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCH78E6wIKnq3Fg0eUf2MFng
milesb

Postby Harald » Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:00 pm