Ski Club Vail Technical Statement

Friends get together

Ski Club Vail Technical Statement

Postby Zermatt » Thu Mar 21, 2019 2:29 pm

I am new to PMTS. A lot of great content on this site. What is contradicting PMTS is the Ski Club Vail technical statementhttps://skiclubvail.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/12/SSCV-Technical-Statement.pdf?
Zermatt

Re: Ski Club Vail Technical Statement

Postby ToddW » Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:56 pm

I skimmed that document. It doesn't seem to say anything about 1) how to ski, 2) how to do MA, or 3) how to improve a skier.

It talks about knee and leg angulation and the ski instructor's favorite empty phrase the calm upper body. That's backwards. Any manifesto on technical skiing should start with the feet and the ankles. Technical skiing happens from the ground up ... feet first. Feet and ankles are only mentioned as positional reference points for upper body pats and in reference to stance width. Upper body parts are mentioned many times in the document :( Good skiers' (Hirscher, Shiffrin) upper bodies are anything but calm; they make intense efforts to move the upper body which result in the false illusion of the calm upper body. And the authors waste ink on descriptions of the CM's movement which is useless for coaching and learning.

@Moderators this thread probably belongs in the social chatting forum instead of this one since it's a question about the ski club's views and not about PMTS per se.
ToddW

Re: Ski Club Vail Technical Statement

Postby Vailsteve » Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:38 am

Since I work at Vail and I see a LOT of ski club vail skiers and instructors on the mountain, I can attest that they are NOT PMTS skiers. The teaching mantra is right out of the PSIA teaching handbook.

Here are just a few things I see as missing: