Head WCR Boots

Post your questions/comments about Gear here

Head WCR Boots

Postby jbotti » Wed Dec 06, 2023 3:00 pm

I was out in Colorado the past couple of days getting new boots dialed in with Diana and Harald. I am now in the WCR 1 boot. I thought I would put this up, more as an explanation about this boot vs the old Raptor B line which I have been skiing in some iteration for 15 years or so. Let me also state, that I will rave about this boot at some point in this post, but as should always be said, boots are first about fit, foot shape, skiers level etc, and no one should decide they need to be in XYZ because one person says they ski great in that boot. I think this commentary will be most relevant to those that have skied the previous Head raptor line and I will attempt to outline the differences in both fit and performance.

First off the WCRs are longer inside and they are a lot longer inside. I pretty much fill up lengthwise the Raptor B2 shell in a 27.5. I am now skiing the WCR 1 in a 26.5 shell. Diana thought that we would need to punch the toe box to make room in the 26.5. But the heel pocket in the WCRs is very tight. Once we created enough room for my heel to fully enter and sit in the pocket, we didn't need any additional toe room. So size wise, WCRs inside, (again once the heel pocket is ground and enlarged so the heel can go all the way back), are around a CM longer than the Raptor B series. Because we went down to the 26, my last width went from 95 on the 27s to 93 on the 26s so the WCR was thinner than my B2s. If you don't go down a size, it will be of similar width.