Replace my Stockli SX with Head SS i.speed

Post your questions/comments about Gear here

Replace my Stockli SX with Head SS i.speed

Postby Cipivts » Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:57 pm

Hi all,
Am new to the forum and self taught PMTS rider otherwise advanced level skier living in Switzerland. Have still to attend a camp and since couple of years wishing to go to Austria although never been able to do so until now.
I am skiing since 2011 the Stockli laser sx which together with Nordica firearrow f1 boots were my equipment of choice on groomers for the past years. Going further and experimenting with PMTS (book, dvd, videos) i decided to make a change in equipment this or next season, and so far spent a lot of time to look into options.
I read much of the content on this forum, and realized that first my boots, and especially the 3 buckle design combined with 135 flex keep me a bit upright and i have difficulties flexing the boot forward. I am looking into the raptors 120 as replacement hoping that going to a 4 buckle design will get me back that forward feeling. From flex i know it's difficult to compare, but i loved the firmness of the firearrows so looking for similar feeling.
Any oppinions?

Regarding the skis, i am very comfortable with the laser sx, a very serious ski in my oppion, heavy, stable at high speeds, and allowing easy turn initiation for skiiers with more than intermediate technique. The best i had so far.
But as the time passe, one also wants to progress, so looking at various options, i arrived to the SS i.speed which has very similar characteristics and radius as my stockli, and i am considering giving it a try.
Anybody that tried them could compare them with the stocklis? What should i expect?

Thanks guys!
Cipivts

Re: Replace my Stockli SX with Head SS i.speed

Postby jbotti » Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:56 am