New boots

Post your questions/comments about Gear here

New boots

Postby tomfisch » Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:37 pm

Thought I'd post something and not just lurk around anymore...

I've been skiing the same boots for the last 13-14 years: Salomon Sensifit, 65-70 flex. I've always heard other people talking about their shins getting sore because of the boots, and I guess I thought that my boots were great because I've never felt any of that. In fact, I've always been quite happy with my boots. Right up until this season. This has been my first season of doing some real pmts drilling and that has made it pretty clear that I need new boots, since my current ones provide no support whatsoever. Sometimes I would get too far forward and sometimes I would get too far back, but I would only notice this when the skis didn't do what I wanted them to do: the boots were just there, flexing along for the ride, not giving me any feedback or support. Plus I think they're too big: I can almost do the twist with my toes in there (maybe it's just the lining that has packed out).

Here's the issue: I'm in Denmark and it's hard for me to find boots here. If I'm lucky enough to find a ski shop that carry any of the pmts recommended boots, they don't have my size in stock. I have small feet and ankles. Almost freakishly small feet: maybe as small as a size 24. Left foot just a little wider than 100 mm, right foot just a little narrower than 100 mm. I'm 5'8 and weigh 143 lb. Is there a boot that would be more suitable for me than any of the others on the list? And can I rule out any of them? If I'm reasonably sure what I need, maybe I'll be able to get the shop to make a special order in my size.
tomfisch

Re: New boots

Postby tomfisch » Sat Feb 28, 2015 8:30 am

Some additional information:

Neutral foot, with slight pronation when dorsiflexed (while standing/walking/running)
Small ankle and heel bone (in my old boots, I'm able to lift my heel no matter how hard I tighten the boots)