MA request: new to PMTS, where shall i start?

MA request: new to PMTS, where shall i start?

Postby Janikest » Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:08 pm

Hello guys,

As i am new to PMTS, it would be better if some more experienced skiers comment my skiing and pinpoint my top difficulties.

This video is painful to post. The slope was icy and i when it is like that, i fear to lose my edge on every turn.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xv5GkaU ... e=youtu.be

Help me becoming a better skier :D
Janikest

Re: MA request: new to PMTS, where shall i start?

Postby DougD » Fri Mar 10, 2017 10:54 am

Good job posting video. As we said on your first thread, video does not lie. I was equally horrified when I saw my first videos. Like all skiers from traditional teaching systems (TTS), your skiing relies on many movements that are less efficient/effective than we try to learn in PMTS.

NOTE: I am not a qualified PMTS coach or expert.

Max_501 (PMTS coach) provided the following MA checklist:

Does the release start by flexing the outside leg? Not consistently. More often, you release the stance ski by standing up on (extending) the inside leg.

Does LTE tipping lead engagement to the new turn? No. You lead engagement by dumping your hip inside. There is no LTE tipping.

Are the feet pulled back at transition? No. Your inside ski slides forward at transition.

Is the inside foot held back throughout the turn? No. Your inside ski leads the outside ski throughout the turn.

Is there enough CB and CA and is the timing right? There is no CB, just leaning inside. CA is better than most TTS skiers, though more/earlier is needed.

Strong inside arm? Better than most TTS skiers.

Is the pelvis included in the CB/CA movement? There is no CB. The CA includes the pelvis, but is initiated late and appears jerky or forced. I believe this late/jerky hip CA results from the hip dump you use at the top of the turn to engage the new edges