MA from Luke

MA from Luke

Postby lukezhang » Tue Jan 31, 2017 9:10 am

Sorry if the video doesn't follow standard. I don't have a zoom len. Just had my daughter following me for a few turns.

lukezhang

Re: MA from Luke

Postby nickia » Tue Jan 31, 2017 7:45 pm

Hi Luke,

I'm not an expert so I will only point out things I could see:

1. Try ask the cameraman to film from a stationary position because moving shot is harder to analyze.
2. When you release, your skis separate which is a sign of lack of free foot management.

Turn 1:

Turn 2:

Turn 3:

This is a common problem. I spent a lot of time this season working on my free foot and developed a much strong free foot awareness and control. It no longer dangles there and go for a ride.

You can review the section about Free Foot Management in Book 2 as well as the Super Phantom move:

1. Draw the free foot to stance ski
2. Practice the sponge hold turn
3. Practice boot touch exercise (Lift free foot ski and touch free ski with stance boot; it is explained in one of Diana's videos)
4. Practice holding LTE on old free foot during release

I highly recommend you to dedicated some time just on focusing on your free foot. Your fore/aft, balance, and control will improve dramatically.
nickia

Postby lukezhang » Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:50 pm

lukezhang

Postby DougD » Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:30 am

Video tip: have your camera person keep filming as you ski past them for 4-5 turns. The side and rear views are as important as the front view.

Terrain/Skiing tip: for learning and MA, find a green groomer and ski as slowly as you can, making complete turns. This trail is too steep to learn new movements, which is evident in the "rushed" quality of these turns.

Your free foot management has improved. It only got away from you on one turn. Suggestion: replay that turn and try to analyze why it happened.

MA using Max_501's MA checklist (note: I am not an expert or coach):