Javelin Von Gruenigen turns

PMTS Forum

Javelin Von Gruenigen turns

Postby Jeff Markham » Sat Jan 31, 2004 9:30 pm

I've been intermittently working on Von Gruenigen turns since last year. I've been making connected turns but, as I told Harald, I looked like a wounded duck. Typically, my free foot was held 12"-18" from my stance foot and I was desperately counterbalancing. As a result, my turns were very skidded.

Yesterday, I spent several runs practicing the Phantom Javelin and then one complete run practicing the release from the uphill edge. After doing that, I started practicing Von Gruenigen turns with a Javelin added. I also tried to "reverse Phantom" the free foot by tipping to the big toe edge (not easy -- I did experience some foot cramping). I'm not exactly sure why, but all of a sudden my turns went much better. Some of them were even carved. For sure, my balance was much better.

At any rate, I thought that I'd share this for anyone who, like me, has been struggling with Von Gruenigen turns.
Jeff Markham

Postby hh » Sun Feb 01, 2004 10:39 am

Jeff, you are doing a wonderful job. If more skiers would go out and experiment like you are doing, or practice the exercises in the book, they would find faster overall skiing improvement and enjoyment. Skiing besides technique is a program of learning where and how to find, lose and recover balance. You need to discover for yourself how much weight you can put on a ski, inside or outside without falling. Versatility gives you more confidence and ability. Good luck.
hh

Postby pat » Thu Feb 05, 2004 5:44 pm

Jeff,