Advice/terms that make zero sense to SCSA

PMTS Forum

Postby -- SCSA » Wed Jan 07, 2004 7:46 pm

Greetings and salutations!

One thing about PMTS, the stuff is real easy to understand. I don't know about you all, but I'm no rocket scientist. So here's some stuff that I hear/read all the time -- not from HH mind you -- that makes zero sense to me. Feel free to add to the list!

1) Roll your ankles.
Say what? How the hey do you roll your ankles?

2) Steering.
I steer a car with my hands, my bike with my hands. I can't think of one thing, that I steer with my feet.

3) Dorsi flexion.
I have no idea what this is.

4) Go there moves.
Yeah? Can you first tell me how to get there?

5) Tip to the pinky toe side.
I have a pinky finger...

6) Look where you're going.
I'm going downhill! Shouldn't I look downhill then?

7) Roll your knees.
I just did. I had to roll my knees a bunch, before my feet got any angles to them.

8) Hands in front.
Way too vague. Hands in front where? What position? How high?

Anybody else?
-- SCSA

Postby Bluey » Fri Jan 09, 2004 2:12 pm

SCSA,

I have trouble with the phrase "Pull your feet back under your body"

Let me elaborate.....when I'm standing statinery on my skis I can't do this....my feet are glue to the ground by gravity. To move my feet back I would need to jump up in the air so as to free my feet from the ground then whilst I'm in mid air I could then move my feet back, before I land back down on the ground.
If I can't do it when I'm statinery.....how can I do it when I'm moving/skiing??. ( Hint ....see below for answer ).

However, if my feet foot is lightened then I can move my Free Foot back under my body/hips.....but only my free foot , certainly not my stance foot.
Therefore I will accept the phrase "Pull your foot back under your body" ( difference is that I'm using the word "foot" not "feet" in this new phrase and I'm referring to the free foot not the stance foot ).