Shameless plug for PMTS in Holland. AKA - Portes Du Ski

PMTS Forum

Shameless plug for PMTS in Holland. AKA - Portes Du Ski

Postby Petter_F » Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:50 pm

Hi everyone,

I just want to put it out there for anyone living in Europe, that making a trip to the Netherlands to Portes Du Ski for new boots, footbeds and some lessons is a good investment. Actually, I saw it as necessary if I was to move forward with my skiing.

We only go skiing for one week a year. Living in the south of Sweden means that popping away for a weekend to the nearest hill (with guaranteed snow) isn't so easy, it's at least a 10 hour drive, probably more.

Years ago I picked up books 1 & 2 and went the self-taught route. I turned around my skiing the first season; night and day actually. But these last years I've kind of plateaued. Largely because I haven't had an instructor or any other eyes to help see what I'm actually doing. Having a little one in-tow on our ski-week didn't leave much alone-time either ;)

Anyhoo, I jumped on the plane to Amsterdam and after a train or two I arrived at Portes Du Ski and was welcomed by Guss and Jasper. Jasper sorted me with some boots and beds, and then it was time for some lessons. Having 'known' what PMTS is about and what the goals are had me thinking that my time in the books, and the practice I'd already done, would have me already on the (PMTS) way. Without getting into the whole process, I can summarise by saying I now have a new experience of balance... and that is an understatement.