Have PMTS ideas spread to Canadian Instructors?

PMTS Forum

Have PMTS ideas spread to Canadian Instructors?

Postby tarnaby » Wed Mar 25, 2015 1:43 pm

Check out some of the language and ideas ("big toe edge", "little toe edge", "relax" and "narrow stance") in these ski tips from a Canadian ski magazine:

http://skicanadamag.com/snow-school/fou ... ths-skiing

Looks like HH talk at Whistler, books, videos and enthusiasts are getting the word out.
tarnaby

Re: Have PMTS ideas spread to Canadian Instructors?

Postby BigE » Wed Mar 25, 2015 2:29 pm

Those Ideas have not yet spread. The CSIA is still outcome based, not movement based. Their motto is "To provide a vibrant mountain experience." This does not include teaching someone to ski.
BigE

Postby jbotti » Wed Mar 25, 2015 2:59 pm

I am no expert on what the CSIA is doing. What I can tell you is not to get too excited about the adoption of PMTS words. This has been going on in the US with the PSIA grabbing words and phrases from PMTS for at least the last 4-5 years. What it means isn't really that much. Usually if you get into a conversation with someone from the PSIA who is using said words, there is a distinct lacking of the proper understanding. I saw someone who was teaching tipping and lift and tip (phantom move) at my home mountain but in conversation this instructor equated it with steering and was still teaching steering (which for us is the opposite of tipping).

I feel confident that they will be stealing stuff from PMTS for many years to come and they will take full credit for it and most likely say that they have always taught ____ (as this person told me they have always taught tipping (Really? you cant be serious!!)). This instructor even told me that Bob Barnes (Mr Anti Phantom Move who called it one of the worst moves in skiing) taught and believed in it as well. At some point you just say Hooey and realize the level of BS that is being tossed around.
Balance: Essential in skiing and in life!
jbotti