The Books are a Skiers Bible

PMTS Forum

The Books are a Skiers Bible

Postby Skizoo » Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:47 am

Short story with a point at the end: I ski about 130+ days a year. Like many here, I get the most enjoyment from the sport by trying to ski my absolute best on every turn. My wife can't understand how I obsess over every turn, but it's what I like and what I enjoy.

That's not to say that every turn is perfect, Far from it. I've been working on PMTS for about 5 years now, but ski the majority of my days solo, and those that aren't solo, are with skiers who have no clue for the most part. So the only quality feedback I get most years is early season and late season when I ski with the summit guys, and they've given me positive feedback, so I know in many ways I'm doing things well but need work in other areas. I've never been to a camp, but have taken privates with Rich M.

But like any sport, slumps happen.. And this past week I've been in one helluva slump (not to be confused with 'Helluva Skier') Seemed liked everything I did was just wrong. I may not be a good enough PMTS skier to know when I'm doing every move correctly, especially when it's mostly self analysis, but I'm good enough to know when I'm doing things really poorly.

Point of the story - I've read all of Haralds books from front to back many times, read specific sections many more times than that, but after a week of cursing my skiing, I spent about 2 hours last night re reading what I felt to be the most relevant chapters related to what I felt were the problems, and today.... Boom, SO MUCH better.

Bottom line, I don't care how many times you've read the books, the answers are ALWAYS in the books.
Skizoo

Re: The Books are a Skiers Bible

Postby go_large_or_go_home » Fri Mar 14, 2014 10:43 am