Question about Alignment

PMTS Forum

Question about Alignment

Postby arnokamphuis » Thu Jan 16, 2014 1:06 pm

First off, I'm very new to PMTS, I only discovered it a few weeks ago. I've been reading up on the whole system and I'm very glad I found it. But now that I'm analyzing my own skiing with respect to PMTS and trying some drills I have an issue. I think it has to do with my boot/feet alignment, but since I'm so very new to all this I might be wrong and it might be something else.

So here goes: There are two things I have to explain. The first is the problem that I have, the second is an observation that I made about my stance.

1) I have been practicing retracting my old stance/outside foot just before the transition in order to get the little toe edge of the old inside foot on the ground and thus my new inside foot/leg free to do early tipping and get the turn started. For this, once I get my balance on the LTE of the old inside leg, I have to tip my new inside foot into the new turn and thus get my knee of that new inside leg 'away' from my knee of the new outside leg. And there I somehow have a problem. The problem is that once I am on the LTE of the old inside ski my knee of the old outside ski is 'supporting' the balance by touching the knee of the old inside leg. Once I try to do early tipping of the new inside ski, therefore, by result of tipping the foot, moving my knee away from touching the other knee, I loose my balance and stability in the new outside leg. This also happens when I practice this on dry-land.

2) The second thing is my stance at rest, even on dry-land without my ski but with my boots. When I stand with my ski parallel, flat on the ground and hip-distance apart and I flex my ankles and knees my knees do not go straight forward but slightly toward each other. If you look from the front at my stance when flexed they form an X.