Boot/Alignment Questions

PMTS Forum

Boot/Alignment Questions

Postby alan » Tue Dec 21, 2004 6:19 am

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to PMTS and fairly new to skiing. I just started skiing last January. I seem to be stuck at not making much progress with the releasing exercies. This has prompted me to start looking at my boots and alignment.

I'm having problems releasing my turns, especially when trying to flatten my left foot while making a right turn and starting a turn to the left. I had my stance checked and the boot fitter added 1.5 degrees of canting under my left foot and I had custom foot beds made to fix pain that I was feeling in my feet due to high arches. That has helped a lot but I am still having problems releasing my left foot and start out turns to the left with a small wedge. I also tend to wash out the tails of my skis to either direction, even though its a lot better since having my stance aligned and the footbeds made.

Here are my questions:

1. I think that I may be knock kneed but I'm not entirely sure. Maybe someone can help me figure this out? When I stand with my feet parallel and my legs relaxed my knees track to the inside of my big toes. I can tense my muscles and make my knees track over my middle toe though, so that's why I'm not sure. My knees track correctly just to the outside of my big toes when I'm wearing my ski boots with both feet on the floor and pressured evenly. When I lift one foot or the other though, my knees track to the inside of my big toes, similarly to Tommi's from his "Alignment question" post.

2. I'm using Salomon Performa 7.0 boots. Is this a rotary boot?

3. If my boot is a rotary boot, could someone recomend a lateral boot model that would be appropriate for my size? Here are my stats:

Foot Dimensions: 27.5 length, B - C width. High arches
Weight: 140 lbs.
Height/inseam: 5'8"/32"

4. If I need new boots, then can I move my footbeds to the new boots, or will I have to have new ones made to fit the new boots?