notes from a hack skee instruckter

PMTS Forum

notes from a hack skee instruckter

Postby *SCSA » Wed Dec 15, 2004 8:35 am

Morning Rusty,

I'm skiing with a friend yesterday who's following PMTS. Why are they following PMTS? Quite frankly, he/she/it wasn't getting anywhere taking walk-up ski lessons.

And of course he/she/it wants to ski like me. Hah ha hah.

Anyway, I'm a hack teacher. But after working with me yesterday at Snowmass, I was able to get he/she/it to make tight carved turns. How? First, we ditched the idea of steering. I showed he/she/it how to stand on the downhill ski, while countering and keeping the inside hip up. And get this. My friend was skiing with too narrow a stance. So I got he/she/it to open their stance up a few inches! I've come so far... :lol:

My friend had taken lessons, he/she/it is a dark blue skier. But the idea of steering just wasn't cutting it. Watching HH's videos made more sense to he/she/it.

So what's my point? That I was able to take one skier, and in 1 day, get them to make nice tight carved turns ala PMTS.

I have to say, it was cool. My friend is jazzed. He/she/it got a feeling from he/she/its edges they had never felt before. He/she/it is now more excited than ever, about skiing.

But here's why I give you, cudos. Remember when you had me working on "your version of thousand steps"? I did the same thing with my friend. It was the precursor, to getting he/she/it to lay down some nice tracks. Matter of fact Rusty, I practice it all the time. It's really fun to do.

I observe a lot by watching. While playing ski instructor, I noticed ski instructors spend way too much time talking. I also noticed that they don't let the students make very many turns. Or, everything is so darn controlled -- "Make 5 turns and stop". I'd show my pal a few things, then we'd ski. We talked, on the chair lift.

###################