Background and Experiences getting involved with PMTS

PMTS Forum

Background and Experiences getting involved with PMTS

Postby SkierSynergy » Fri Nov 05, 2004 1:02 pm

Ott,
This is an answer to Ott?s question from another thread about my cert level. I ended up giving you my background and something about my experiences getting into PMTS teaching. I would encourage anyone else to do the same in this thread and allow others to ask questions that come up.

I am currently a green level PMTS instructor and I am proud to have passed that level, though maybe a few extra comments about my background and experience with PMTS might be informative and get some discussion going on a few things.

I have skied since I was 3 or 4. I grew up in Central Wisconsin right next to Rib Mountain (now Granite Peak). Throughout my youth I skied everyday after school and on weekends. I was a national level USSA junior freestyle competitor. I was a camp kid (Mainly with Eddy Ferguson?s camps) for years and trained year round. I skied all events though my real love was air. My coaches were mainly Eddy & Robert Young (Air: One of the guys who did the stunts in Spy Who Loved Me) and Karen Huntoon (bumps). I floated among several coaches for ballet (yes that was when we still had ballet ? taught me a lot about edge control and balance).

I was friends with people like the Beddor brothers (Frank was world Champion in 81 and 82, Mary Beddor, Katy Murphy, Ian Edmondson (world Ballet champion), etc.