Harb Carving is a lot like Snowboarding

PMTS Forum

Harb Carving is a lot like Snowboarding

Postby suebrown » Sat Aug 07, 2004 11:24 am

Ha! I bet that got your attention! :lol:

What do I mean by that? Well, I mean I felt like a total beginner on them. Kind of like the first (or maybe every) time I strapped my feet to a snowboard. It didn't take me long to get going fast enough to make myself nervous; same thing can happen to me on a snowboard. Carving was difficult to get the hang of.

Let's back up a little. Jay (SkierSynergy) let me try out some of his Harb Carvers (the middle level model) a couple nights ago. We went to a pretty steep, curvy road, but I stayed near the bottom of it where there was a long flat runout. Jay gave me a lesson, and he's a great teacher. I was making step turns in no time.

The next phase after step turns is carving (tipping the feet so that each skate has a row of wheels off the ground), and that's where I got stuck. Frankly, it just feels scary to tip like that at slow speeds on pavement (not that I wanted to try it at high speeds). I suppose that means I have some balance issues.

Eventually, though, I did manage to link shallow turns on my shallow little slope. If any wheels were off the ground, it was just barely. I'll need some more practice, for sure.

They do seem like great ski training, and I had a blast. I like the fact that they're not easy, and that you really have to commit to make a turn.