Help me understand the first PMTS lesson

PMTS Forum

Help me understand the first PMTS lesson

Postby suebrown » Mon Aug 02, 2004 11:09 am

Hi,

I've been lurking here for a few days and have a question about PMTS.

First let's get some stuff out of the way: Yes, I'm a PSIA instructor. Yes, I hang out at Epic. No, I'm not biased against PMTS; in fact, I'm for anything that works, no matter whose idea it was in the first place. Yes, I hate the wedge: I hate teaching it, I hate un-teaching it, and I hate trying to un-learn it myself. My goals are to become a better skier and a better instructor, and I'm here to learn! 8)

So here's my question:

What do you teach a non-athletic adult never ever on his first day? Specifically, how do you teach him to control his speed and stop?

Like I said, I hate the wedge, but I don't know how to get around it. Turning to stop is great if there's lots of room. But what about crowded hills where there's not enough room? Or what about controlling speed in a lift line that goes downhill?

Thanks for any help and advice you can give me.
Sue
suebrown

PMTS first lesson

Postby Harald » Mon Aug 02, 2004 12:12 pm

Hello SueEllen

I am at Mt Hood coaching US Development skiers so I have limited time to answer. The best way to get the whole picture is from our PMTS Instructor Manual and video. I'd be glad to discuss it with you when I return to COl. next week. Feel free to call me at 303-567-4663.

Ski Area management Magazine did a three day study last season observing PMTS Direct Parallel being taught to beginners. They wrote a very favourable report. Rick Kahl is the editor. You might call him, as he saw the program in action over three days.
Harald

Postby Guest » Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:05 pm

Thanks, Harold. When will the video be coming out on DVD?

BTW, it's just Sue, no "Ellen." :)

1st day with newbie

Postby John Mason » Mon Aug 02, 2004 3:47 pm